Healthy Eating

Learning objectives for the session:

  • To consider current eating habits for parents, and their children
  • To explore the level of exercise done by parents
  • To generate ideas of how to encourage healthy eating
  • To look at the amount of sugar in common foods
  • To look at the level of fat in common foods
  • To consider what a healthy diet comprises of

During the father’s group cooking session, the fathers were given the opportunity to cook and to choose what foods they would like to make from a diverse range of cultures. This includes European, Asian, Caribbean, African, Mediterranean and many others. The fathers enjoyed cooking so much and were inspected by Ofsted which received credit and praise.

The foods below are some of the range that the fathers enjoyed eating and other foods they are hoping to make.
The fathers were also informed about Healthy eating and what foods are good for the body.

Healthy Eating

Healthy eating means choosing the appropriate amounts of foods from all of the five food groups.

The five food groups and sources are:

  • Carbohydrates (potatoes, rice, pasta, bread, etc)
  • Protein (chicken/meat, fish, eggs, lentils, beans, etc)
  • Fruit and Vegetables (bananas, apples, carrots, cauliflower, etc)
  • Milk and Dairy (milk, cheese, yoghurt, dairy alternatives, etc)
  • Foods Containing Fat and Sugar (cakes, crisps, biscuits, fizzy drinks, etc)
A healthy balanced diet contains a variety of types of food, including all the five food groups mentioned above. This helps reduce risks of diseases such as heart disease, stroke, type 2 diabetes and combats obesity. Regular physical activity also improves your health.

The five food groups and sources are based on the EatWell Plate, please see below.